Resentment, hostility, and hatred arise…I watch, I accept, the emotions are passing…and a powerful insight lands

(Versión castellano abajo)

Because we’ve lost our capacity for pain and discomfort, we have transformed that pain into hatred and blame. It’s like it’s so much easier for people to cause pain than it is for them to feel their own pain.

I’m not sure where to begin with this post. What I want to express feels difficult to write about – I’m worried about what others might think of me and I’m still grappling with a learning around acceptance that is still only on the edge of my understanding. Nevertheless, it feels important to try and share something of a powerful insight that I’ve had…

Things happen in our lives – sometimes supremely difficult and painful things. However, with others to hold and support our process without it being intermixed with their own, I think that people can nearly always come to a deeper understanding about themselves, and maybe one day go onto live happier and more meaningful lives…and indeed the messages from the last weeks of my “Adventures in Anger and Fear” are, I believe, beginning to arrive for me….

Most of my posts of late have been dominated by being bitten by a street dog. It took place a few weeks ago now and it has been difficult. I’ve been trying to work through the issues as best I can and writing has certainly helped. First, there was deep anger based around blame and judgement toward others. But I then quickly began to feel quite afraid – afraid each time a dog came near me. and generally more sensitive to “dangers” in the world around me. I also felt very lonely and I recognised a deep need for support from others. I’m fortunate that I found the sort of support I needed and I think that has gone a long way to helping me deal with my experience. The fear has subsided. I am grateful.

But that is not the end of it. There is still, it seems, much more for me to work through. Part of me is tired of mentioning this dog bite experience – isn’t this dog bite incident old news?  Doesn’t life move on? Shouldn’t I just get over it? Well no, there is no should or shouldn’t in life, and if it keeps coming up then there is probably something that I’m yet to resolve. I watch, I observe…I accept and trust the process…

“Bad” thoughts?

At the moment nearly every time I move past a dog, regardless of the dog’s temperament – outwardly aggressive, “mean-looking”, docile, cute, or even the sleeping dogs – I imagine my-self abusing that dog. In my mind I might visualise stamping hard on the dog’s head, or giving the dog a swift kick in its belly. Internally I’m using words like “cruel” and “nasty” to describe and implicitly judge these thoughts. Is it acceptable to think like this? I’m not sure, perhaps for many it is not. I certainly feel disconcerted by these thoughts and even feel a sense of shame expressing them as I am now doing. I’ve never thought this way before about dogs and I’ve felt a bit worried by what is happening.

I don’t know why it is happening but it nevertheless is happening. That seems important to accept. What else could I do? I could of course pretend they are not there, even though they are, and unable to even acknowledge them even inwardly perhaps they would manifest in other ways. I sense they need to be expressed.

Perhaps if I’m not fully conscious of my process I might one day find myself acting on those thoughts. Perhaps the physical memory of this incident will eventually recede into my unconsciousness but undealt with issues will linger in my being leaving me with a slight prejudice against dogs. Perhaps I will be more inclined to deal with all dogs violently, even though all dogs are not violent. Who knows? Nevertheless, I’ve come to the conclusion that I need to accept these thoughts as they fully are – without blame, without judgement. I’m struggling with something real that happened in my life – the emotions and the thoughts that I am attempting to share have come from an authentic process. There is nothing to be ashamed of yet nevertheless I do feel vulnerable. I have much more work to do but just expressing these thoughts helps me find some acceptance of what is happening.

A powerful learning

But perhaps the most astonishing thing about consciously observing such resentment, hostility, and hatred manifest within me is that I think I understand a bit better how such emotions might develop. And it is helping me find acceptance of such emotions in others. I have often struggled when I observe resentment, hostility, and hatred in others – I might feel angry, helpless, and sad for example. I suspect that at times my own reaction prevents me from appreciating that the resentment, hostility, and hatred may have had an origin in something difficult for that person for which they do not have adequate support for. In accepting my own difficult and scary process, although not necessarily liking it, it has enabled me to accept what I see in myself in others too.

***I have since written and published a book about the journey to Bhutan on a bicycle. If you like what you’ve read here then consider buying A Journey For Happiness: The Man Who Cycled to Bhutan today.

(version castellano)

Resentimiento, hostilidad y odio surgen … Miro, acepto, las emociones fluir a través … y una poderosa visión aterriza

“Porque hemos perdido nuestra capacidad para el dolor y la incomodidad, hemos transformado ese dolor en odio y culpa. Es como que es mucho más fácil para las personas causar dolor que para ellos sentir su propio dolor”.

No estoy seguro de por dónde empezar con esta publicación. Lo que quiero expresar es difícil de escribir: me preocupa lo que otros pensarán de mí y todavía estoy lidiando con un aprendizaje en torno aceptación que todavía está al límite de mi comprensión. Sin embargo, me siento es importante a compartir algo que sea una poderosa revelación que he tenido …

Las cosas suceden en nuestras vidas, a veces cosas extremadamente difíciles y dolorosas. Sin embargo, con otros para sostener y apoyar nuestro proceso sin que selo entremezcle con el suyo, creo que la gente casi siempre puede llegar a una comprensión más profunda de sí mismos, y tal vez algún día puedan vivir vidas más felices y significativas … y de hecho los mensajes de las últimas semanas de mis “Aventuras en ira y miedo” están, creo, empezando a llegar para mí …

La mayoría de mis publicaciones últimamente han sido dominadas por una mordida de un perro callejero. Fue hace unas semanas y ha sido difícil. He estado tratando de resolver los problemas lo mejor que puedo y la escritura ciertamente me ha ayudado. Primero, había una profunda ira. Pero entonces rápidamente comencé a sentir miedo. También me sentí muy solo y reconocí una profunda necesidad de apoyo de los otros. Tengo la suerte de he encontrado el tipo de apoyo que necesitaba y creo que eso me ha ayudado mucho a hacer frente con mi experiencia. El miedo ha disminuido. Estoy agradecido.

Pero ese no es el final. Todavía hay, parece, mucho más trabaja hacer. Una parte de mí está cansada de mencionar esta experiencia de mordedura de perro: ¿no es este incidente de mordedura de perro una noticia vieja? ¿La vida continua? ¿No debería superarlo? Bueno, no, hay no es debería en la vida, y si sigue apareciendo, probablemente haya algo que aún deba resolver. Observo … Acepto y confío en el proceso …

“¿Malos pensamientos?

En el momento, casi cada vez que yo paso un perro, sin importar el temperamento del perro: exteriormente agresivo, “mal parecido”, dócil, lindo o incluso los perros dormidos, me imagino que yo mismo abusaría de ese perro. En mi mente, puedo visualizar estampando en la cabeza del perro, o dando al perro una patada rápida en su vientre. Internamente estoy usando palabras como “cruel” y “desagradable” para describir e implícitamente juzgar estos pensamientos. ¿Es aceptable pensar así? No estoy seguro, quizás para muchos no lo es. Ciertamente me siento preocupado por estos pensamientos e incluso siento una sensación de vergüenza al expresarlos como lo estoy haciendo ahora. ¿Nunca antes había pensado así sobre perros…que está sucediendo?

No sé por qué está sucediendo, pero sin embargo está sucediendo. Eso parece importante de aceptar. ¿Qué más podría hacer? Podría, por supuesto, fingir que no están allí, a pesar de que lo son, e incapaces de reconocerlos ni siquiera interiormente, tal vez se manifiesten de otras maneras. Siento que necesitan ser expresados.

Quizás si no estoy completamente consciente de mi proceso algún día podría encontrarme actuando sobre esos pensamientos. Tal vez la memoria física de este incidente eventualmente retroceda en mi inconsciencia, pero sin resolver los problemas, ellos persistirán en que me deje con un leve prejuicio contra los perros. Tal vez me inclinaré más a tratar con todos los perros violentamente, a pesar de que todos los perros no son violentos (solo miedo como mi). ¿Quién sabe? Sin embargo, he llegado a la conclusión de que necesito aceptar estos pensamientos como son en su totalidad, sin culpa, sin juicio. Estoy luchando con algo real que sucedió en mi vida: las emociones y los pensamientos que intento compartir provienen de un proceso auténtico. No hay nada de qué avergonzarse, sin embargo, me siento vulnerable. Tengo mucho más trabajo por hacer pero expresar estos pensamientos me ayuda a encontrar una cierta aceptación de lo que está sucediendo.

Un aprendizaje poderoso

Pero tal vez lo más asombroso de observar conscientemente como resentimiento, hostilidad y odio se manifieste en mí es que creo que entiendo un poco mejor cómo pueden desarrollarse tales emociones en otras. Y me está ayudando a encontrar la aceptación de tales emociones en otros. A menudo he tenido problemas cuando observo el resentimiento, la hostilidad y el odio en mismo y los otros: podría sentirme enojado, impotente y triste, por ejemplo. Sospecho que a veces mi propia reacción me impide apreciar que el resentimiento, la hostilidad y el odio pueden haber tenido su origen en algo difícil para la persona, para algo que ellos no cuentan con el apoyo adecuado. Al aceptar mi propio proceso difícil y aterrador, aunque no me gusta, me ha permitido aceptar que veo en mi mismo en los otros tambien.

3 comments

  1. Great post and thank you for sharing it with us. I’ve been thinking about you a lot on my weekend rides and how scared I get by loose dogs too, scared of being bitten. I’m so impressed by your honesty in working through your process, and how difficult it must be. Kudos my friend. It feels like you’re doing the work to get on a better path. Thank you again for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi my boy,,sorry to hear you are still a bit wary of these dogs,i know what you mean it’s like any other nasty expirence it taks a bit of time to get over it,,,,still nice to hear you’re back to doing what you set out to do,keep going my boy,my thoughts are with you,all in love xx

    Like

Leave a comment